Famed Safari Rally to test WRC crews in Kenya.

The legendary and lauded Safari Rally challenge is gearing up to host the fourth round of the FIA World Rally Championship in Kenya this week.

The famous event was first held in 1953, dubbed the East African Coronation Safari in honour of the coronation of Queen Elizabeth the second. Later it was renamed the East African Safari in 1960, a name it kept till 1974 when it became the Kenya Safari Rally.

The untamed terrains of Africa, arduous conditions and constantly changing weather conditions make the Safari Rally Kenya a formidable task to conquer. Drivers have always over the years found the event increasingly onerous.

Twenty nine crews have entered the Safari Rally Kenya with all FIA rally car categories represented comprising of 9 Rally 1 hybrid cars, 14 Rally 2 cars and 1 Rally 3 car. The rest of the cars are categorised as NR4 and are to score under the national category.

Among the contenders, Toyota’s Kalle Rovanperra makes his second appearance of the season alongside Elfyn Evans and Takamoto Katsuta completing the Toyota line up in Kenya as former winner Sebastien Ogier is not here to defend his victory having opted not to take on the challenge.

Rally Sweden winner, Esappeka Lappi returns to duty in the third Rally 1 Hyundai car alongside Estonian Ott Tanak and the provisional championship leader Thierry Neuville to complete the line up.

Adrien Fourmaux and Gregoire Munster are joined in the British squad by Greek Joudarn Sederdis who competes in the third Ford Puma Rally 1 car.Esappeka LappiEsappeka Lappi

Fourteen crews are set to battle for WRC2 points under the support categories with former winner Kajetan Kajetanowiz among the entrants in a Skoda fabia RS Rally 2 car alongside other top contenders like Oliver Solberg, Gus Greensmith, Nicolas Ciamin, Daniel Chwist, Diego Dominguez, among others.

However, Africa is as well represented as local hero and five times Safari rally winner, Carl “Flash” Tundo leads the locals cruising a Ford fiesta R5 car alongside reigning African champion Karan Patel, Ugandan Champion Yasin Nasser, Aakif Virani and Samman Singh, among others all in a mathematical contetion of claiming the 2024 Safari Rally laurels.

The prestigious Safari Rally is expected to be exciting as ever and the action starts on Thursday.

Comments are closed.